• Stewardship

    Public access to the historic trails within the Vaughan Woods nature preserve is made possible by the stewardship efforts of community...

  • Education

    School visits, interpretive walks, lectures, and workshops occur throughout the year in the Vaughan Woods and at the Homestead.

  • Community

    Annual community events like the Spring Maypole Dance, Fall Harvest Celebration, Winter Sledding Contest and Summer Old Hallowell Day...

  • History

    This historic property, settled in 1794 in Hallowell, Maine, was home to seven generations of Vaughans. Today, in partnership with our...

  • Nature

    Historic stone bridges, scenic waterfalls, and other windows into the past not only earned the Vaughan Woods its local nickname...

  • Arts

    Whether its painting the Kennebec River from the Homestead porch, creating Andy Goldsworthy style nature sculptures in the Woods, or...

Connecting People to Place Through History, Nature, & the Arts

Women of the Homestead Tour: March 19 & 21

This unique re-telling of Homestead history is being offered in honor of Women's History Month in March. Whether its arriving at the Homestead...

Read more

Great Maine Outdoor Weekend Fun

Over 30 people braved the cold temperatures and impending blizzard on Valentine's Day to play outside with us!  There was a snow shoeing adventure...

Read more

2015 Public Program Schedule

For your fridge - download our public program schedule here! 2015ScheduleVH

Read more

January/February Newsletter

Read the January/February 2015 Newsletter or take a look at Back issues.

Read more

Open Call for Outdoor Sculpture Garden Submissions

The Harlow Gallery and The Vaughan Homestead invite Maine artists to submit work for an exhibition of sculpture taking place on the grounds of The...

Read more

Bridge Closing

Uncle Sam's Bridge was built in 1900 by 13-year Samuel Vaughan and his father William Warren Vaughan. Having withstood countless floods and thousand...

Read more

View more posts